Welcome to the Cadillac V-Series Forums!

4BW damaged in transport shipping

jadis192

After 6 months or waiting my car came in yesterday only to come in with a damaged driver door corner. Not happy.

What do people recommend? Decline this vehicle and wait for a new one? Or let dealer repair?
1000003178.jpg

I'd probably see what the wait time is for that door repair and, as long as the rest of the car is exactly what you want, stick with that one since you don't know when the next one will come around. If it was a more serious issue that could affect the life of the vehicle I'd just hold out if I could, but that doesn't seem to be too bad.

I'm no expert but after watching a lot of shows about custom builders, I'd think a good shop could repair the damage to the point that you wouldn't notice it.

I any event, I hope that whatever your decision is that it pleases you in the long run. Don

A PDR magician might be able to fix that.

The pinch weld on the inside of the panel is cracked open from the bending. I went and saw it today. Unsure now. Dealer said they'll repair it all and let me decide. I'm leaning towards a new order

Get a new one. I think the door skin is aluminum and it's not easy to fix. unlike steel, it does not "remember" its previous shape.

Get a new one. I think the door skin is aluminum and it's not easy to fix. unlike steel, it does not "remember" its previous shape.
Since this is car highly thought out about Weight Distribution by engineers. The front doors will be AL and rear doors FE for that reason I would surmise. As for fixing that? It wouldn't be a problem for a experienced body guy/gal super easy fix for them. It's lame that it happened but properly fixed you would never know?

My magnet says it's not aluminum.

OP, the dealer needs to fix it regardless, so see how it looks when it's done then decide. That's really just a cosmetic blemish, and if the repair is done properly and it looks good then keep it and save the grief of a new order.